2015 Presentation Dinner

29th May 2015
2015 Presentation Dinner - Words by Joy Allison

A very successful season for Retford members concluded with an excellent dinner at Retford Golf Club in May.

This final occasion of the season for everyone to get together was well attended and gave everyone another chance to reflect on the achievements of the season. After a couple of seasons when fortune had not favoured us, some experienced members had moved away and newer and less experienced members had been developing their skills, it was gratifying to hear how well we had done.

President Alan Burkwood in his speech reflected on how, when he first joined the club, hardly anyone had the confidence to enter the N&EMPH selection process. This year we presented around sixty images for selection, of which nine were accepted. Ben Searson was Highly Commended for his digital image of a ‘Lego Surfer’, Pat Oaks and Des Lloyd each had acceptances and Geoff Stoddard exceeded all expectations with acceptances of a black and white image, a wildlife shot and four sunrise shots from Spurn Point, one of which won the coveted medal for the best print.

During the year we had vastly improved results in our inter club competitions. Thanks were expressed to Competition Secretaries, Jenny and John Smith, who selected our submissions from the material provided by members. They clearly got something right because we won all the events we entered.

In recent years we have divided the members between the Advanced and Club levels based on their point scores in the previous season. During the evening presentations were made to the trophy winners for the year in each of these categories and for individual successes in specific competitions.

There are a number of presentations based on points scored in competitions throughout the whole season. The President awards his trophy to the person deemed to have made the greatest contribution to the club in any way during the year. This year it was awarded to Ben Searson who has revamped the web site, given the club a presence on social media and photo sharing web sites and distributed weekly updates of events and information to members.

The Best newcomer award goes to the person who scores the most points in their first season with the club. This year Des Lloyd was a well-deserved winner. He has made a significant impact on the club and our competitive success with his magnificent shots of many subjects, but of birds in particular. Who can forget his ‘Dispute’ showing tow kingfishers arguing over a fish?

The coveted title of ‘Photographer of the Year’ was the last to be announced, and it was no surprise looking at the groaning table full of trophies in front of Geoff Stoddart when he emerged a well-deserved winner. This trophy is a magnificent carved wooden camera presented to us by Retford Rotary in honour of Percy Laws, who was a founder member of both our Society and Retford Rotary. This year Vice President of Retford Rotary Club, Derek Broughton made the presentation to Geoff.

The full list of winners is:
Colour Print – Advanced – John Heath
Mono Print – Advanced – Alan Townsend
Projected Image – Advanced – Jenny Smith
Colour Print – Club – Geoff Stoddart
Mono Print – Club – Geoff Stoddart
Projected Image – Club – Geoff Stoddart
Colour Print Portfolio – Geoff Stoddart
Mono Print Portfolio – Geoff Stoddart
Projected Image Portfolio – Geoff Stoddart
Enprints – Dick Lewis
Rosemary Wright Memorial Plate (Projected) – Geoff Stoddart
Dennis Rich Memorial Shield (Prints) – John Heath
Best Newcomer – Des Lloyd
2014 Exhibition (Colour) – Janet Shawcross
2014 Exhibition (Mono) – Jayne Mair
President’s Trophy – Ben Searson
Photographer of the Year – Geoff Stoddart

There is a further opportunity to see members’ work this summer at an exhibition mounted in Egmanton church, which will be open to visitors on the afternoons of July 11th & 12th. Admission of £3 includes a vintage tea.

Derek Broughton presenting the Photographer of the year trophy to Geoff Stoddart.
Geoff Stoddart with the trophies he won for the 2014 / 15 season.